2013



Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0

    Can I replace r12 with r134a


    I am working on a walk in cooler that calls for r12 can I use r134a for it. If so any suggestions on flushing system.



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    246
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: Can I replace r12 with r134a

    Don't use r134a instead of r12 in any case. The ref. system will be contaminated.
    It is useless to flush the system unless a compressor with synthetic oil is used.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    US
    Age
    51
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: Can I replace r12 with r134a

    I can offer you this good information on R-12 to R134A. I work in industrial refrigeration now for 20 years. I have seen R134A used in HVAC screw chillers, but right from the factory. I have no seen any large machine conversions mainly because the POE synthetic oil is very expensive. I used to have an auto air business and I converted hundreds of systems and this is what I learned. 134A runs about 17 percent higher head pressure then 12. When you convert the rule of thumb is install 80 percent of factory charge by weight. In a hermetic system (ALL metal Piping) I would flush the whole system thoroughly. If you have a semi hermetic or open system with any hoses or neoprene seals I recomend to just drain the system, but leave some mineral oil residual in the system to mix with the POE (Ester) oil. This will bond (Esterize) the rubber parts in the system. The POE is "great" oil as a lubricant and detergent qualities are great. Change driers and labeling. If you have a large oil capacity the cost of the oil will scare you. It is near 100 dollars per gallon. 134A is still pretty cheap compared to blends. By the way 134A is pure. It will not seperate. It is very good stuff, and the pressure temp chart is nearly identical. Use all existing TXV devices and orfices. Watch the discharge pressure ! Good lu

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    350
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: Can I replace r12 with r134a

    Why post the same subject twice?
    Mobile A/C at its best, see avatar.

Similar Threads

  1. R507 in an R134a compressor: any danger?
    By DaBit in forum Technical Speculations
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 21-12-2009, 01:44 AM
  2. Clogged condenser leading to no gas on R134a systems?
    By runningonavac in forum Refrigerants
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-09-2009, 10:52 PM
  3. Retrofitting R12 with R134a
    By jrlcool in forum Technical Speculations
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17-04-2009, 11:10 AM
  4. can R134a replace R22
    By byronice in forum Refrigerants
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-11-2008, 10:18 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-03-2004, 10:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •