Arrow Help diagnosing the issue with a portable AC unit.

Hi all, first post sorry if its in the wrong place.
    Quick background, i no very little about the air conditioner layout, everything i know is just from inspecting and guessing really. (so if anything below isnt correctly termed. please dont kill me) im a noob! ;-)
    Details :
    I was given an air-conditioner recently (delonghi pac w160a) we use to use it in the old office but it wasn't keeping up with the increased temps in the room so they had another installed.
    basically it has sat there for 2 years and they said take it.
    I got it home and checked it over, what i discovered is that the compressor is turning on and humming away, the pipe going from the compressor to the Condenser is getting hot and the pipe going up to the Evaporator i can see frost forming on the pipe but the evaporator itself isnt getting cold at all.
    after sometime the compressor turned off and on inspecting i found it was rather hot. like ouch that is hot, too hot to touch "hot". so i'm sort of thinking its over heating and if it has an internal shutoff then it triggered.
    Now, as i mentioned im not an expert but, im sort of thinking is it possible for the gas to have done its dash/gone bad? (if thats a thing) im not sure how many years it has been running for. but i know it was used for at least 2 while i was at that office.
    I did initially suspect a leak but i didnt think that there would be any condensation on the evaporator pipe if there was no gas in it?
    i checked all the things i could including the cap for the compressor which is giving around 24.25uf (25us 5% rated)
    there were a couple of other caps but they seem to run the fans so didn't test them.
    I checked the resistance between the compressor terminals as well in case that might help.
    (W) - (U) : 4.5 Ohms
    (W) - (V) : 6.0 Ohms
    (U) - (V) : 10.4 Ohms