Recharging a 410a split

I have recently started a new job covering a mix of splits, VRVs and chillers. My background is Chillers and fridges, but thats why they employed me as the AC techs they have had in the past had little or no chiller experience.
    As you can guess my learning curve has been pretty steep as most of the work is on the AC side. This website and forum has been a massive help (Cheers!)

On to the question, I have a Toshiba split using 410a, it has lost some of the gas and I'm currently finding the leak. On the bottle of r410a it states, this refrigerant must be charged in the liquid phase (I understand why) but on the split there is an access valve only on the LP side and if I charge liquid RF in there, when I flash it back up surely the compressor will draw in liquid (which we know is a bad thing).

I am possibly missing something obvious... but as they say there is no such thing as a stupid question...!

Re: Recharging a 410a split

Quote Originally Posted by damo567 View Post
    I have recently started a new job covering a mix of splits, VRVs and chillers. My background is Chillers and fridges, but thats why they employed me as the AC techs they have had in the past had little or no chiller experience.
    As you can guess my learning curve has been pretty steep as most of the work is on the AC side. This website and forum has been a massive help (Cheers!)

On to the question, I have a Toshiba split using 410a, it has lost some of the gas and I'm currently finding the leak. On the bottle of r410a it states, this refrigerant must be charged in the liquid phase (I understand why) but on the split there is an access valve only on the LP side and if I charge liquid RF in there, when I flash it back up surely the compressor will draw in liquid (which we know is a bad thing).

I am possibly missing something obvious... but as they say there is no such thing as a stupid question...!