How to read lables

Hi, can any one help me with an easy solution. I have been working on domestic refrigeration for around 8 years now and have always gased them up using my manafold gauges (r134a and 600a) i have just got a new job regassing comercial machines, nothing to big just up to double doors drinks chillers, now when i get them (all diferent) i just get the unit with out the evap fans mostly, so i need to start weighting the refrigerant in but dont totaly understand the lables (no one there knows any thing about regassing so cant ask) things like 35/10 on preasure and some for weight just have 7.5 ????? now i know thats not kg and wouldnot think its pounds
    The only gas i use is 134a there
    And also they have nitrogen that i have never used

So any info would be greatfully appreiceated

Re: How to read lables

7.5 ounces would be about 213 grams. Sounds about right for a small system.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by brian m w View Post
    but dont totaly understand the lables (no one there knows any thing about regassing so cant ask) things like 35/10 on preasure and some for weight just have 7.5 ????? now i know thats not kg and wouldnot think its pounds
    Ounces probably!
    7.5=212 gr which is probably OK for that size of equipment?

35/10 is more likely 35/100 psia

Nitrogen is used for leak and pressure testing and during brazing, to stop formation of oxides inside tube which could clog capillary tube,filter-drier and help in acid formation in oil.
    Last edited by nike123; 04-02-2009 at 11:53 AM.

Blog Entries

Again double post. I am really pi ss ed with this!
    Last edited by nike123; 04-02-2009 at 11:59 AM.

Also, I'm confused by what you say about the refrigerants you use.
    Commercial cases may be using R134a, R404a, R507, R22 or any number of other gasses (but not nitrogen)
    If you put the wrong gas in the system you could stuff the compressor.