PDA

View Full Version : calculation question

jayjay
01-04-2007, 02:39 AM
I have a walk freezer ( 0 degrees F) that a tenent wants to add about 1000 lbs of pasta to everyday. The pasta is about 60 degrees F. Will this have a big effect on my cost to operate the units? How can I figure what this will add to the electric bill? He will also be opening the door three times a day. Is there a simple way to figure this? I'm not a refrige tech so be nice and make it simple.
Thanks

NoNickName
01-04-2007, 11:06 AM
Is pasta warm and moist? What weight of water in percentage?
But mainly: why for god's sake you want to freeze pasta?

lana
01-04-2007, 12:07 PM

I just love your accent :D :D :D :D

Anyway, Dear JayJay,
This job requires good cooling load calculation. In that you have to consider the loading per day and the entering temp., and many other parameters which you may know.
After you have the cooling load then you can select proper equipment to satisfy this load.
Good Luck.
Cheers:)

chillin out
01-04-2007, 02:19 PM
How can I figure what this will add to the electric bill?
You don't have to, why don't you have a electric meter installed to the property?

Chillin:) :)

Electrocoolman
01-04-2007, 02:47 PM
You don't have to, why don't you have a electric meter installed to the property?

Chillin:) :)

Agreed!

Jay....You also need to bear in mind that some "Freezers" are NOT designed to freeze, but only designed to STORE pre-frozen goods.

ECM

Dan
01-04-2007, 03:00 PM
I am going to wing it here. Lana and no Nick, feel free to rip me up.:)

You will have what we call a sensible load... the amount of heat you need to remove to bring the pasta down to the freezing point, then you will have what we call the latent load which is the amount of heat it requires to freeze the product, and then you will have another latent load which is how much heat is required to bring the pasta to the storage temperature.