PDA

View Full Version : Condenser inlet is too big?

kay86
31-03-2023, 06:58 PM
Hello! I've noticed my 350W condenser have huge inlet, like 8mm OD. I cannot fit 8mm and I don't dare swaging it because the thickness appears to be already too thin, even if the thing is rated for 300+ PSI. I think I'm supposed to fit the 5mm OD tube because it's the correct size for the compressor's discharge but how am I going to fit a 5mm OD in that huge inlet? I would have to put a lot of brazing, but wouldn't it make for a weak joint? I thought I studied that the gap must not be too wide, just enough to have a capillary effect that coats the inside of the joint. So what gives?

seanf
31-03-2023, 07:16 PM
A reducer, if you can get one that goes from 8 to 5 mm. Have one made?

Make your own reducer with a series short length of pipe increasing/decreasing in diameter, expanding the pipe if needed or to try and reduce the number of steps.

Or a rough method, crimp the edge of the 8mm pipe at one point around the 5mm pipe. Probably want to heat the 8mm pipe up first though.

I guess it depends on if it needs to look good or if its just an experiment.

kay86
01-04-2023, 12:43 AM
Sorry I was being an idiot. Actually if I push a little the 8mm does fit pretty snuggly. No swedging required :)

Huston
19-04-2023, 02:26 AM