PDA

View Full Version : BlueAir Chef Table 4 drawer cooler running warm

Chefgreg
15-05-2020, 03:53 AM
First, I am a chef. I can do minor refrigeration repairs, ie; thermostat, solenoids, power cords, and standard maintenance.
I bought a used Blue Air Chef table. It was running and held temp for about a month. Then it froze up. I unplugged it to thaw and then it never got down to 38 degrees again. I replace the thermostat with a generic refrigeration thermostat, it got down to 38 for a couple of days then froze. After unplugging to thaw, it never got back to 38 again. It would get to 42, but the hold at 50 (ish). Then I replaced that thermostat, same results. I then order OEM from Blue Air. That thermostat hasn't gotten down to 38 AT ALL. It has started to freeze the coils, but, not as bad as before (ice on the coil cover face plate). The OEM Thermostat holds (with dial turned all the way up) at 51. I may have put the wires backwards on the thermostat, but don't know if it matters. I thought it might have been the start/run solenoid, until I put the OEM thermostat in. Now, I don't know.
Other things - Yes the gaskets need replacing, but they do still mostly seal. The drawer slides need replacing, but they work and the drawers do shut fully. There is a gas grill on top of the unit, but normally this shouldn't matter, and it still runs warm even with the grill off.
Any help would be appreciated. I would like to avoid calling in a pro until I have to....$...
Thanks

al
15-05-2020, 07:33 PM
Are there circulation fans inside the unit? Have you a pic of the cabinet, sounds like there should be a fan inside, if this isn't running all the time it will ice up and not keep temp. Get your door seals sorted soon as you can, you're only drawing in hot moist air from the kitchen which will also lead to icing up. Is the condenser clean?

Chefgreg
15-05-2020, 08:17 PM