PDA

View Full Version : Retrofitting an R12 system to R134a

jammy23
23-05-2014, 04:40 PM
I have been doing a job for a customer and the compressor wouldn't start, found one of the capacitors to be faulty so looked into replacing...by which time he had already got one and fit it himself. I warned him before hand that the compressor had no oil in it but if I could get it to run I could isolate the refrigerant and put fresh oil in, because he didn't wait he ran it and has seized the compressor.

I told him to look at getting the compressor reconditioned and that I could isolate the pipe work so the only gas lost would be what is in the compressor and once reconditioned it could be re piped and run. After giving him a price hes again taken it into his own hands to source another compressor with synthetic oil in and to retrofit the unit to R134a on the advice of his previous engineer.

I have no previous experience of carrying out a retrofit and was just wondering how you go about getting all the oil out of the system? I know the expansion valve wants replacing and the drier would've been replaced either way but unsure on exactly how you flush the system?

I have read that you should clean out as much as possible from compressor, (which will be all now the compressor is getting swapped out) and then to run unit for 24 hours and remove oil from the compressor and then repeat the process after refilling with new oil.

My main concern is how you clear it from places such as receiver etc, the last thing I want to do is fit everything and ruin the system because everything hasn't been cleared out thoroughly.

The unit is a cellar cooler, prestcold condenser with a searl evaporator and the compressor is a semi hermetic prescold compressor which originally used to run R12 but has been swapped cant remember what gas he said it had been swapped to think he said R49 but may be wrong.

monkey spanners
23-05-2014, 06:21 PM