PDA

View Full Version : adding oil to daikin condenser

hawkeye
18-07-2011, 05:41 PM
I am a building service engineer of 20 years, i was an on the road engineer doing installs and service work before that.
I have never had much to do with daikin units other than phoning for a contractor to come and look at one as i have no idea what the fault codes are.

We have a RP125L7W1 condenser, it has had two previous leaks on the pipework where oil was lost.
It has now got a broken compressor, the contractor said it was making an awful noise before blowing the breaker. To my mind it has seized and broken, they did not put any oil into the system after the last two leaks, saying the system does not need it.

Do daikin recommend oil top up after a leak where oil has discharged.

In my day we would have added a small amount if the oil had escaped, but hey i'm an old fart what do i know.

simon@parker
18-07-2011, 06:15 PM
each compressor comes with the correct amount of oil the condensing unit will have the correct amount of oil on install if u have no oil sight glass on compressor u cannot tell how much oil is in it so u dont add oil as over charge is as bad as under if system has had a replacement comp before then u may have to much oil but its very doubtful on initial run up the oil level in comp will drop but there is plenty in the system to cope with that possible the noise was a broken reed or something else you could cut the old comp open and have a look daikin do a good technical support help line if u can get through lol or have a check on there website google yr unit i get loads of tech info that way :) good luck with that :)

r.bartlett
18-07-2011, 06:20 PM
I guess it depends on where the leak was and how much oil was lost. If a small leak with a small loss of oil then it's unlikely to need additional.

However if they do replace the compressor ask for the oil to be drained and the volume taken. Then argue the toss if necessary

charlie patt
19-07-2011, 09:11 PM