PDA

View Full Version : atlas copco dryer problem

paul441
23-02-2011, 07:02 PM
Hi all

can anyone give me some advice on a dryer problem,I av put an new compressor in this unit today anyway when tried to charge system it only pulls in .07 and should be 3kg r410a unit switched on for comp to pull rest in but it wont take anymore this unit has hotbypass soleniod which i checked and its not energiseing would this be the problem why i cant get charge in , any help would be grateful as i am fairly new to working on dryers

cheers

Tayters
23-02-2011, 09:27 PM
Never worked on a drier myself so just thinking out load here. Have you blocked a discharge pipe with braze? Does the compressor make the same noise as before?

I would imagine the HGBV would energise to pass discharge gas to suction raise suction pressure. This would create a false load or help when starting compressor. Either way I don't see how it would affect your problem as you should still have a refrigeration circuit.

Can you reclaim and blow through with OFN and check with stratigically placed gagues if OFN is getting all the way round?

Hope that helps,
Andy.

glenn1340
23-02-2011, 09:48 PM
Hi Paul,
I take it this must be a recent unit as I`ve not come across any with R410a. On other dryers I`ve charged I`ve not had any problems with any type of HGBV. You say you`re pulling in the refrigerant, it might be an idea to use a heater band to increase the cylinder pressure. In theory on a vacced out system the charge should flow in easily until the pressures equalize....but there again theory doesn`t always work in practice.