PDA

View Full Version : Concerned over new job

RFChiller
02-07-2010, 07:56 PM
I've been a Refrigeration Service Engineer for over 10 years now, working on Commercial Refrigeration and Small Split A/C systems.
I've just been offered a new post as a Building Services Engineer and much of the work will involve HVAC Chiller systems. I'm a little worried over my lack (none what so ever) experience on them.
Has anyone else gone down a similar path? Should i be concerned or should i just keep reminding myself the principles are the same and it may take time to learn?

Thanks for any advice :)

sedgy
02-07-2010, 08:09 PM
Hi RFChiller , well done there is nothing wrong with progressing your career, if you where open with your new employers , they may send you on a course< how many different makes of chiller are you going to work on?< all the best, sedgy

Gingerair
02-07-2010, 08:16 PM
Hi RFChiller

Sedgy's right, you should look at this as a way of progressing your career, an opportunity to expand your knowledge..

One of the things i like about this job is the variety of equipment you can work on, over time it makes you a better engineer...

Go for it !! :D

fazzamouse
02-07-2010, 08:21 PM
Did the same as you 2 years ago worked on commercial refrigeration and split air con but i went into the supermarket game,best thing i ever did as long as your honest about your knowledge and don't bull**** you'll be fine,goodluck mate.

RFChiller
02-07-2010, 08:23 PM
Im not actually sure how many different systems they deal with, although Trane was mentioned.
I'm going to be with someone who knows the site's for the first 2 weeks, then i suppose i'll be dropped in at the deep end!

james10
02-07-2010, 10:42 PM
if you can manage a vrf a basic chiller system should be a doddle i went the other way from industrial to comercial i'm a much better engineer for it
good luck

cool runings
02-07-2010, 11:20 PM

Just remember refrigeration is refrigeration and it all works the same way.