PDA

View Full Version : intermittent cooling problem?

fast_murray
24-05-2010, 03:13 AM
I have a kenmore freezerless refrigerator (mod# 60722). I bought this fridge used but in new condition, the tags were still hanging it even. I ran it in my BBQ trailer at a contest this weekend and it initially cooled to 35 degrees with the control turned to coldest setting. It shut off and doesn't turn back on until the temp is in the 60-65 degree neighborhood. I'm terribly frustrated as I went to this setup to get away from coolers and I don't want to go back. Any ideas? I'm an electrician so I kinda understand some of this but I don't know where to start. Thanks!!

lana
24-05-2010, 05:25 AM
Check the thermostat first. Then check the refrigerant amount.

lowcool
24-05-2010, 06:06 AM
sounds like your thermostat is out of range or its sensor is maybe in the wrong location.if its a cold plate or tube type evaporator you want to have a full frosting affect all over if you have this i would say that the thermostat is out range

fast_murray
24-05-2010, 11:45 PM
Pardon me for not knowing alot. How would I know if the thermostat is out of range and is this a repairable problem or a replacement issue? Also, I can tell you that it has a tray underneath with maybe 4 or 6 coils running through it. This tray had a very small amount of water in it when I got mad and unplugged it. (Not because of the water but because it won't cool right. Thanks for your patience!

sneep
24-05-2010, 11:58 PM
Pardon me for not knowing alot. How would I know if the thermostat is out of range and is this a repairable problem or a replacement issue? Also, I can tell you that it has a tray underneath with maybe 4 or 6 coils running through it. This tray had a very small amount of water in it when I got mad and unplugged it. (Not because of the water but because it won't cool right. Thanks for your patience!