PDA

View Full Version : low td no soloution

cavalier2903
20-04-2010, 10:55 PM
ok i have a 13 degree temperature diffrence across my evaporator i cant find a reason i need help. here are all my readings and things.
13 degree temperature diffrence(this is the problem)
pressures 70/240 r-22 refigerant
15 degrees of superheat
25 degrees of subcool
electric heat strips are not energized
supply static .05
open return
piston size 065 size is correct verified by goodman mfg
system is a 10 year old goodman 2.5 ton
piston is clear no restriction
compressor pumps down
compression ration is 2.5
blower set to low speed and is turning in right direction
liquid line drier is not restricted
system is a straight cool condenser on an air handler with electric heat strips.
i am at a loss i can find anything please help me what could cause this my thinking is that there has to be something with the compressor because i had a similar situation with a 410 a tran only diffrence that one would not pump down. i replaced the compressor and it worked great

Gary
20-04-2010, 11:10 PM
Just to make sure we are on the same page:

The evap TD is the difference between saturated suction temp (converted from pressure) and entering air temp.

Is this the TD you are referring to?

Gary
20-04-2010, 11:21 PM
Your subcooling should be no more than 15F. This probably means the system is overcharged.

cavalier2903
20-04-2010, 11:25 PM
im charging by superheat because im meterd by a piston and the td im refering to is my supply temperature minus my return temp im shooting for a good 19 or 20. and i tried it all removing gas and adding no effect on temperature diffrence best i had was 13 but its at an 11 now

mad fridgie
20-04-2010, 11:28 PM
What are the air on conditions?

Gary
20-04-2010, 11:31 PM
The air in/air out temp drop is called a delta-T or dT.

You need to remove refrigerant until the subcooling is 15F and then take a new set of readings.

Gary
20-04-2010, 11:56 PM