PDA

View Full Version : Chiller problem

Chiller 09
09-12-2009, 08:48 AM
Hi
I am new to this forum. I am not an engineer but my father’s company are the registered dealer of Mcquay here in Pakistan. Almost about three years ago the company installed two air cooled screw chillers at a GSM company named Mobilink. Couple of months back one of the chillers developed a fault. According to the on sight engineers when they turn on the supply and give the switch on command to the controller all the 6 condenser fans turn on immediately and the compressor itself switches on after a couple of minutes. They say that it is entirely opposite to the normal behaviour of the chiller as the condenser fans take some time to turn on after the compressor is switched on. This operation has caused serious concerns here as we are standing at the door step of winters and this problem results in liquid carry over resulting in icing especially in the winters.

Can anyone help with this particular problem?
One more thing one of the engineers working on the chiller thinks that the controller program has been corrupted. He says that the controller itself was broken once due to an electrical surge or something n after repairing it stopped working.
I will really appreciate of you people can provide any information on this particular problem.

Grizzly
09-12-2009, 09:45 PM
Welcome Chiller 09.
From what you tell us.
I would tend to believe the site engineer.
Basically the control stratergy is "Corrupted"
If your father imports these machines.
I assume he has someone capable of maintaining them?
Whoever you get to commision them.
Ask them to investigate this chiller!
Grizzly

Chiller 09
10-12-2009, 11:55 AM
Hi Grizzly'