PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question (and also, check out my refrigeration hack)

dustball
24-07-2009, 04:08 AM
New to refrigeration engineering .. though I am an engineer in my professional work.

I purchased an old Frigidaire CF-083 chest freezer, and wired a Love Controls temperature controller into it. It looks downright beautiful, with the display flush mounted.

Anyway, the wiring is plain and simple. Power comes in, wired in serial with the thermostat. Doesn't get much easier then that, huh? I replaced the thermostat with my high-tech controller, and confirmed the relay activates at the correct time: when the temperature is above SP, the compressor comes to life.

Question:

After initial testing (in which the temperature DID go down to SP for half a day), I put the freezer in place outside on my patio where I intend to keep it.

It no longer seems to cool.

The compressor runs, but doesn't seem to bring the temp down. Sometimes it sounds like liquid is trickling ... has ***** pressure dropped too low? Did I kill the compressor by putting it in direct sunlight on a hot (90F) patio?

SP is 50F.

Cheers, and hope you like my first engineering attempt :)

-B

Gary
24-07-2009, 07:04 AM
Where did you mount the temperature sensor for your new control?

dustball
24-07-2009, 07:43 AM
The sensor itself is halfway up the back side.

Opening the fridge ... its just not cold.

Gary
24-07-2009, 07:52 AM
The sensor itself is halfway up the back side.

Opening the fridge ... its just not cold.

Did you mount the sensor in the same place as the thermostat sensor? Did you drill holes through the cabinet? Did you nick any copper tubes?

dustball
24-07-2009, 05:06 PM
The thermostat sensor goes into the cabinet, I don't know where it ends up. I did not drill any holes.

Should sensor placement really matter if the fridge doesn't come anywhere close to SP? It only seems to cool a few degrees right now, and this is verified by using a second thermometer in various places.