PDA

View Full Version : Replacing R-22 with minimal capacity loss

HuntingtonHusky
09-03-2009, 06:35 PM
First, let me introduce myself so you all have a better idea of where I'm coming from.

My name's Marcus. I'm a student at a university on Boston and am majoring in mechanical engineering, although that's looking like an increasingly poor choice as the math courses pile up. My interests are largely in transportation, so refrigeration and HVAC aren't topics with which I'm particularly well-versed.

That said, what I'm trying to figure out is how to replace R-22 in a heat pump system without losing a tremendous amount of capacity. Most of the literature I've seen comes from refrigerant manufacturers, all of whom claim that their refrigerant (R-422b, R-422d, R-407c, etc.) is the best replacement choice given the upcoming R-22 phaseout.

I need to know this because I'd like to be able to reduce the total number of changes to a heat pump designed for R-22. I'm not sure how easy it is to add capacity to a system, but it's bound to be easier if the new refrigerant is as similar to R-22 as possible.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

NoNickName
09-03-2009, 07:12 PM
No need to replace R22. Just make sure the system is leak proof and leave it run until 2015.

HuntingtonHusky
09-03-2009, 08:02 PM
No need to replace R22. Just make sure the system is leak proof and leave it run until 2015.
The problem with that is that this system won't be installed until after the R22 phase out, so it'll need to be reinstalled. Funny how grant money works.

Graeme D #1
20-08-2009, 02:49 PM
Hi HuntingdonHuskey,

Currently there is nothing on the market that can replace R22 as a 'drop in' or 'retrofit gas' that can service the same temperature range or exhibit the same capacity.