PDA

View Full Version : Discus or Semi-hermetic

keepitcool
05-08-2008, 03:45 PM
Hello all,
I am admittedly not a ***** guy. All of my background is in Ammonia refrigeration. I do have a good customer that wants to add a small cooler/freezer(about 12,00 sq/ft total) I have got quotes from a couple of vendors and they want in different direction. I would like to put this out to the experts in this field.

Thanks in advance for the feedback!

nike123
05-08-2008, 03:53 PM
Hello all,
I am admittedly not a ***** guy. All of my background is in Ammonia refrigeration. I do have a good customer that wants to add a small cooler/freezer(about 12,00 sq/ft total) I have got quotes from a couple of vendors and they want in different direction. I would like to put this out to the experts in this field.

Thanks in advance for the feedback!

Copeland Discus is semi-hermetic! There is noting to choose from.;)

keepitcool
05-08-2008, 04:00 PM
None of the semi-hermetic machines are piston compressors?

NoNickName
05-08-2008, 04:02 PM
All of the piston reciprocating from Copeland are semihermetic.

keepitcool
05-08-2008, 04:11 PM
So we have established that both types of compressors are semi-hermetic. Are there any distinct benefits to discus over piston compressors?

NoNickName
05-08-2008, 04:24 PM
Discus ARE piston compressors. They are called discus because of a patented valve design, later mimicked by Dorin as well.

keepitcool
05-08-2008, 04:49 PM
I am showing my ignorance. So the only real difference is a reed valve or a "discus" valve,right? Thanks for the help. I apologize for the dumb questions. I am just outside my comfort zone here.

taz24
05-08-2008, 05:36 PM
So the only real difference is a reed valve or a "discus" valve,right? Thanks for the help. I apologize for the dumb questions. I am just outside my comfort zone here.

Spot on mate.