PDA

View Full Version : What is the 3rd pipe for on a VRV

viamphie
27-06-2008, 09:42 PM
Hi guys first post ( and probably the last) so if this sounds silly be kind.

I'm quite new to the industry only have hands on experience. Ive installed a few VRV and VRF systems and I was wondering why Mitsi use 2 pipes but Daikin use 3. Anyone point me in the direction of where I can find more info. What is the 3rd pipe for? and is it better than a 2 pipe system. Clearly both systems work as required through a switch box ( BS BOX ) so I'm a little confused.

Brian_UK
27-06-2008, 09:49 PM
Hi, with a two pipe system it can only operate like a basic heat-pump; it can either cool or heat, it can't do both at the same time.

With a three pipe system you can provide cooling, heating and heat reclaim.

I'll dig up a link for a tech book, be back soon...

[edit-1]Link to Daikin US site, some downloads of tech manuals for VRV and BS boxes.
[edit-2] Better put the links in this time -DOH!

http://www.daikinac.com/commercial/docsInstall_VRV.asp?sec=docs&page=28

and

http://www.daikinac.com/commercial/docsEngineering.asp?sec=docs&page=58

The Viking
27-06-2008, 11:01 PM
Viamphie,

As Brian said, for most manufacturers the difference is if it's a heatpump or a heat recovery(simultanious heating and cooling) system.

BUT...
You mentioned Mitsubishi (Electric), they are the exception. They are doing with 2 pipes what (to the best of my knowledge) everybody else needs 3 pipes to do, provide heat recovery.

They do this by getting the outdoor units to feed a high pressure vapour/liquid mixture down the "liquid" line. This goes to an accumulator in their BC boxes. The indoor units that requires cooling then takes liquid from the bottom of this accumulator whilst the units in heating gets vapour from the top of it.

Cleaver kit...

viamphie
27-06-2008, 11:03 PM
wow thats a lot of reading.......... thanks I'll get back to you in November lol.