PDA

View Full Version : Helping myy son to start out in the refrigeration business

blackheathbaggy
04-06-2008, 10:40 PM
I'm a novice (3 years) refrigeration engineer and am enjoying learning the job and have taken my son out for a ride when on call many times and he really seems keen on the idea of following in my footsteps. He left school last week (has to return for another 5 exams) and he has asked me to help him to get into the refrigeration trade ( i know, i've tried to talk him out of it but he is really keen). I've asked at my company but because of cutbacks they ain't employing any trainee's at present so i'm wondering how/where/ what to do to get him started.A problem may be his school exams won't be of a really high standard but he isn't thick and as a few on here have said 'there ain't many new people entering the trade'.
We're West Midlands based and i thought somebody on here might have some idea's that might help him/us.

mgtet
05-06-2008, 09:24 PM
try b.e.s.t.: building engineering services training, they are a training agency based in the midlands. I did my appreticeship through them some 13 years ago and they provided me with an employer and sorted out college courses.

eggs
06-06-2008, 12:32 PM
Hello Blackheat.

We have a young lad who could be described just as you describe yours:

A problem may be his school exams won't be of a really high standard but he isn't thick.

and this is where the problem starts. Our young lad has been with us for 12 months and can more or less do the full nuts and bolts installation work, his brazing is excellant. His ductwork is very neat and tidy.
He has never been late once, never had any time off, so we thought we would send him off to college.
When i contacted our local training provider they more or less told me to forget it, unless he goes and gets some Maths, English and a Science GCSE's first.