PDA

View Full Version : Problems With Dissertation

RyanCEng
17-04-2008, 08:00 PM
Firstly I would like to apologise for the multiple posts but I was unsure as to which room would be the most appropriate to post in about dissertations....

I am currently studying chemical engineering at strathclyde university in glasgow and have been assigned the topic of refrigeration. If anyone could send me any information that they feel could be relevant to myself or post up some links then it would be much appreciated. I am unsure as how to approach the task as there is no direct question, I feel that a basic review of why refrigeration is needed, then maybe the different ways of refrigerating and then possiblities for the future. If anyone has any ideas as to what they feel the best way to go about it would be then it would again be very much appreciated.

Thank you very much in advance

Ryan

paul_h
17-04-2008, 08:10 PM
Whats your current level of knowledge in refrigeration?
I tend to tell people to start with roy dossat "principles of refrigeration" as a book that's available wordwide.
If you are just interested in a link to it, I'm sure something will come up with a search of the forums, if not there might be something almost as good to suit your purpose of a general introduction

RyanCEng
17-04-2008, 08:15 PM
To be honest my knowledge is pretty basic. I am unsure as how to approach it as I have never done anything about it before in my university life. Any information that anyone could shed to help me along would be much appreciated

US Iceman
17-04-2008, 08:27 PM
Chemical engineering is a fairly broad field of which refrigeration could be a subset.

Can you provide a more narrow scope of what a dissertation on refrigeration might consist of? By this I mean are you wanting to a broad paper on various types of refrigeration systems, or more specifically a certain type of refrigeration system used for a specific task?