PDA

View Full Version : Australia Regs for working in trade Q?

dogma
14-03-2008, 04:29 PM
This is a question for any Aussies who may help me locate what qualifications i may need.

I'm a 3rd yr Apprentice RAC/HVAC mech out of the trade for 12mths over custody disputes.

A friend of mine has a contract on some of Australia's mining sites and he would like me to work for him testing, repairing and servicing AC in mining machinery. He has a dual trade as a diesel mech/machinist.

Will I still have to finish my trade or can I apply for a refrigerant license and get maybe a cert 2 for my time in refrigeration?

The systems are fairly basic.

Thanks

DOGMA.

paul_h
14-03-2008, 04:42 PM
To get your refrigerant handling licence you have to be fully qualified in something, and do all the courses.
Have a look at http://www.arctick.org , they hand out the licenses.

When they started up the licences, they wouldn't even let fully qualified techs work on mobile equipment. They are a federal government office, with no engineers on the board, so a bunch of helpfull people.

William Taylor
15-03-2008, 06:42 AM
Hi Dogma,
The comonwealth government is trying to tighten up on the amount of cowboys in the refrigeration industry. You can try your luck with cert 2, however cert 3 would be the one.
Standard working hours in the Mining Industry in W.A. are 2 weeks on 1 week off 14days on 12hours a day the locations are remote and I do mean remote, normal fly in fly out and the weather is hot hot hot. Without a cert 3 you will not get a licence to trade that means that you cannot buy refrigerant it's $50,000 fine for the supplier and $15,000 for you and your loss of licence to trade.
So before you come Cover Your Arse and check all the details your mates qualifications are not worth anything if it comes to a case.
If you do remote fly in fly out are you in for one hell of a culture shock
Best of British Luck to you
Regards
Bill Taylor

PaulZ
15-03-2008, 07:16 AM
Hi Dogma