PDA

View Full Version : Broken compressors since refrigerant change

zeus2k6
15-02-2008, 03:56 AM
Hi fellas,
Im a maintenance engineer for a firm and have across this strange problem of frequent breaking down of ac compressors in our ac system. We are using Carrier 5H120 compressor with unknown condenser. The expansion valves are Danfuss TES12 and we are using 16 of those. The suction pressure in compressor if about 50psi and the discharge pressure is about 220psi. Apart from that I have absolutely no other data.
The problem is, that 6 months ago we changed out the refrigerant from R-22 to R-404A and since then the compressors have started breaking down. We changed out the expansion valves also to suit the new refrigerant but did not change anything else.
A carrier technician once told us that it is because of the high discharge pressure created by R-404A but i very much doubt if it is the case because the gauges on the compressor still show 220-260 psi of discharge pressure, which i think are pretty much tolerable.
We have had to replace numerous broken pistons and some compressors totally! but we still dont have a clue as to what has suddenly gone wrong with the system!
Any help will be appreciated!
Thanks

powell
15-02-2008, 07:11 AM
Many H22 compressors, 0 to 45 F SST are also medium temp R404A, -5 to +25 F SST,depending on the compressor, if you change to POE oil. I'll try to check out the Carrier 5H120 specs.

So it would seem that you now have a medium temp compressor in a high temp application. Could be trouble. 50 psig relates to about a +16 F SST using R404A, it should be about a +45 F SST for A/C. :eek:

Did you change the oil to POE? Second, busted pistons are usually a sympton of liquid flooding.

I think you need to rethink this conversion.

lana
15-02-2008, 08:42 AM
Hi there,

Dear zeus2k6,