PDA

View Full Version : Need advice from ozzy's

paul76
25-01-2008, 07:46 PM
Hi,
Im going to apply for my visa to ozz soon. The route im going is skilled immingration. Im a electronic technician but my skills might not be upto whats required. If i do get in this way i will retrain as a refrigeration and aircon engineer or mechanic as its called in ozz.
If that fails i might do the student visa route. The refrigeration and aircon course is 2 years and held in melbourne. After my 2 years (and if i pass) i will be assesed by the immingration people again based on the points system.

Rerigeration and aircon mechanic is a 60 pointer. If that dropped then i would not get in even doing my 2 years, passing and with 900 hours work esperience.

My question is 'how long has the refrigeration and aircon mechanic been a 60 pointer and can you see that changing?'

Many thanks, Paul

750 Valve
26-01-2008, 01:18 PM
I think that would be a question for immigration department or maybe some recent or not so recent immigrants, as an aussie I have no idea about the immigration process as I don't really need to - as you can understand I'm not gonna leave the best country on earth :D

As australia is in a bit of a skills shortage I can't see the situation changing in the next 5 or so years - but thats just a guess.

paul76
26-01-2008, 03:38 PM
Thanks for the reply.

If i do gor the this course do you think i will get work experience no problem and taken on at the end of it with a company?

750 Valve
27-01-2008, 03:36 PM
well theres heaps of ac and frig jobs for those qualified, especially in summer, but I'd say it'd be a little harder to find a job as a mature age apprentice. Best bet would be to go for a trades assistant job then use the time to credit towards practical experience for the course, this would only leave time to do courses after hours though. Prospects of getting a job once finished though are almost 100%

paul76
06-02-2008, 11:52 PM