NC joe Guest

low charge or cap tube blockage?

Hello everyone,

I have never used this before so hopefully I wont screw it up.
    i have been messing with a refrigerated compressed air dryer. the system has 134A in it. I have about 30 to 35 degrees f superheat. My head pressure is about 165 psi suction is about 28 and stable no matter how much I load the evaporator. this dryer has a fan switch that turns the fans on at 175PSI and off at 105psi. I had thought that if my high superheat was due to a low charge I would see lower than normal head pressure with increased head temperature. I have the increased temp but not low head pressure. Even when i load the evaporator way beyond its design point the hot gas valve is still assisting the suction pressure (which explains my overheating problem) without droping the head pressure. To me this means I have plenty of regrigerant there is just not enough goin through the cap tube. I am obviously not a refrigeration expert but am I wrong in thinking that the cap tube must have blockage? How could I be sure if it is cap tube blockage or low charge without evacuating the dryer and weighing the charge? thanks in advance for any input.

Re: low charge or cap tube blockage?

Quote Originally Posted by NC joe View Post
    Hello everyone,

I have never used this before so hopefully I wont screw it up.