Basic question about refrigerant to use

Hello, I am a chemical engineer trying to repair a broken laboratory chiller bath, and I am trying to understand how the refrigerant I use will affect the lowest temperature I can obtain with it (R12 vs R22)

I have a pretty good understanding of thermodynamics so that's not a problem. From what I have been able to find by researching refrigeration systems, R22 can provide more cooling capacity for a given compressor, which does not mean that it can cool something to a lower temperature. R12 is a no-brainer if the system was designed for R12 because of the damage that R22 causes to rubber seals, resulting in leaks.

Basically I am understanding that the minumum temperature possible is not as important as cooling capacity. If I may make an anology, it's like the difference between using a liquid coolant line that is -40° but flowing slowly, versus using a coolant line that is -10° with a higher flow rate. The amount of heat energy (enyhalpy) that can be removed from a system is the same for either one, if you ignore the boost in compressor capacity provided via R22.

Am I making any sense here?

Thanks in advance,
    Craig

Re: Basic question about refrigerant to use

If you want the best of both worlds, good capacity yet low head pressures I'd go the HC route and use R-290.

Or if you want to get fancy you can use HFC HC blends or even just HC blends.

How ever it is a four part equation, what capacity/temp/and flow/ and delta are you needing?

Quote Originally Posted by cbfull View Post

Am I making any sense here?

Short answer Craig,

NO....

If you are looking at just repair something, then keep the gas the same.
    In order to convert a system to run on a different refrigerant there are numerous factors to consider, the efficiency being one but it is quite far down on the list.