Thread: 3-stage cascade

3-stage cascade

Hi there,

First of all, let me introduce myself. I'm not a refrigeration professional and certainly not an expert among amateurs. I'm a former phd in psychology; who has taken another occupational way. In fact, I'm working now as an executive for a small computer parts reselling company.

In my job, I'm used to perform CPU testing on a daily basis and of course overclocking has become an hobby. I've already owned a 2-stage cascade (R290 & R170) during the past year but the evaporating temp wasn't enough (about -100C unloaded, -91.5C at about 270w of load)... I wished for less.

So; my project was/is to add a third stage to that 2-stager unit.

The whole unit has already been assembled, but results aren't very good for the moment. Briefly, here's what it actually looks like:

Actual Cascade

1st stage

Condenser + Fan
    Rotary cp 10,000Btu/h
    Captube .8mm (1.9m)
    HX 14 plates

R404a

2nd stage

Rotary cp 8,100Btu/h
    Manual Oil separator
    Desuperheater (huge condenser split into 2 parts, one for 2nd stage and one for 3rd stage)
    Manometer for HP
    Expansion tank
    Pressostat
    Deshydrater
    Captube .8mm (2.05m)
    Coaxial HX

R1150

3rd stage

Rotary cp 17,000Btu/h
    Automatic Oil separator
    Desuperheater (huge condenser split into 2 parts, one for 2nd stage and one for 3rd stage)
    Expansion tank
    Nanometer for HP
    Pressostat
    Deshydrater
    Captube .8mm (2.30m)
    Evaporator

Mixture: R50 + R1150 (71.5% + 28.5% at the moment; i've tried lots of amounts; but also only R50 and only R1150. R50 alone requires to much of HP; and R1150 alone isn't really good)
    Observed problems

- Unsufficient hold of load of 2nd stage: SL can't stay frozen no matter the amount of R1150 while 3rd stage's running; and HX temperature gets hotter and hotter... HP diminushes accordingly. Supposed solution: substituing the compressor by a more powerful one.