cellar cooler fault.

I have a beermaster cellar cooler running on 134a, looking at the sight glass seems the liquid level well below the line,

in the cellar, the evaporator (very old, made by delta) seems the body and outlet pipe of the expansion valve gets iced up in approx 10 minutes after switching on, and leaving the evaporator not cold enough, this tells me that the refrigerant being too low causing pressure problem leading to the expansion valve to malfunction.. hence ice build up on the valve.

AM i right ??
    as dont wanna evacuate the complete system to fit new expansion valve.

Thanks

Professor Guest

Re: cellar cooler fault.

Quote Originally Posted by fireblade View Post
    I have a beermaster cellar cooler running on 134a, looking at the sight glass seems the liquid level well below the line,

in the cellar, the evaporator (very old, made by delta) seems the body and outlet pipe of the expansion valve gets iced up in approx 10 minutes after switching on, and leaving the evaporator not cold enough, this tells me that the refrigerant being too low causing pressure problem leading to the expansion valve to malfunction.. hence ice build up on the valve.

AM i right ??

as dont wanna evacuate the complete system to fit new expansion valve.

Thanks
    Check the superheat setting on the valve body try turning the srcew fully in then undo 2.5 turns. Check to see if the last tubes in the evaporator are not iced up.

All this is assuming the system is fully charged.

Regards, Professor

Brian_UK is offline Moderator I am starting to push the Mods: of RE Site Moderator : and general nice guy

If you suspect that the refrigerant charge is low try a leak check of the system before you touch anything.

If it came out once it will come out again.
    Brian - Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
    Retired March 2015