Question Efficient Water-Source Condenser Design?

Hello All,

I want to design an extremely efficient geothermal heat pump system for my residence. I think I have quite a bit worked out, but I still have a few questions. Any input is welcome---including criticism.

First, I'm not a refrigeration engineer, tech, etc. I design electronic stuff. As I researched high efficiency options for cooling/heating my home I became more fascinated with the refrigeration cycle. I also came to the conclusion that packaged water-source heat pumps are designed for broad operating conditions limiting their efficiency for a given application.

I'll keep my day job, but this stuff is cool! Just when I think I have my arms around it, a new layer is revealed prompting more research. I've been on this task for about a month and this forum has been a gold mine---not to mention that the posters seem to be genuinely nice and knowledgeable people.

This project is not about saving money on the installation. It is about learning something new while trying to meet the challenge of lofty design criteria.

Climate
    I live in central Texas where we have a design wet bulb of 79F. We have 3175 cooling degree-days and 1586 heating degree-days. For this reason I am mostly concerned with optimizing the system for best cooling efficiency.

Design Parameters
    • Water-to-water heat pump
    • K5 scroll compressor using R410A
    • 78F entering water-source temp at 3.5GPM/ton
    • 45F evaporating temp
    • Low as possible condensing temp
    • Short refrigerant circuit-- the compressor, condenser and evaporator are packaged close to each other.
    • No reversing valve in the refrigerant circuit. The evaporator and condenser heat exchangers never swap functions. The "reversing" occurs via valves in the water lines.
    Maximize Cooling COP