co2 liquifier

Dear all,

I am now working on designing a co2 liquifier, some parameters:
    duty:450 kW
    refrigerant:R22
    co2 side: flow: 9.4 ton/h
    inlet: 40 C, 30 bar, gas
    outlet: -10 C, 29.5 bar, liquid

I am new to this project and I look for many informations about this ,but found no useful information on the co2 condenser/R22 evaporator designing.
    Could someone help me especially on calculating the co2 condensation heat transfer coefficients in-tube? and more information on the shell and tube exchanger design?

Maybe it's a simple problem for you seasoned guys, but for me it's huge. Need your help! Please!

many thanks!

cygbob

Re: co2 liquifier

Hi Cygbob,

I don't remember the coefficients that we used to use for these plants - maybe someone else can help with that, or I can raid the archive at work. However one issue worth considering is that most systems I'm familiar with have the CO2 outside the tubes and refrigerant inside. This gives some advantages: you can purge non-condensing gases more easily from the CO2 if it is on the shell side and the condenser still works well when the load is light, whereas with CO2 in the tubes they tend to fill with liquid when the flowrate is low. It doesn't need to be a dry expansion system: many of the older ones were gravity fed with refrigerant in the tubes (kind of like a thermosyphon oil cooler). It will be interesting to hear some other views on whether the CO2 should be inside or outside the tubes

cheers

Andy P

HI

GIVE ME A DAY OR TWO AND WE WILL SEND THE SIZE, DESIGN AND A PRICE ON A UNIT FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION

BEST TO YOU

BRUCEBOLDY AND iSOTHERM EXCHANGERS

Hi,Andy P
    Thanks for the advice, we also considered it that way, because in the co2 liquid the impurity gas (N2,H2) is less than 0.3-0.5ppm, but because the co2 pressure is much higher than R22, to be safe we put the co2 in tube.
    thanks

to bruceboldy:
    thank you for the help!

cygbob

to CYGBOB

Hi, as promised