Solonor Guest

Need help with Pizza Table

Hello,

I’ve been browsing some of the forums and have found tons of useful information. I’m going to throw my situation out there in hopes of any feedback. I am a total amateur at this, I just picked up a gage set and have the necessary hand tools. Got a cylinder of 134a and friend in HVAC that I bug all the time. I have a Randell Pizza prep table that lost its compressor. Had my buddy replace the compressor and recharge it. Unit fired up fine but the suction line at the compressor would ice up. Eventually a patch of ice would form on the compressor. We shut it down and I called a company to come look at it. They played with it for a while found a few other issues, a leak and loose wires, eventually pointed it to superheat and txv issue. Guy claimed it was a bad valve and wanted another 500 to replace it. That’s were that ended and I decided to fix it on my own. I went out got a gage set spoke with my buddy and started messing around. First thing was adjusting the txv, (which I had no idea how aside from turn, wait for ice, turn again). Then I discovered there’s 2 txvs, one in the cooler part at the evaporator and one for the table top which appears to be a sealed plate of some sort, completely inaccessible aside from the 2 pipes coming out of the top. (my “pro” was measuring and adjusting the wrong line and txv).

As of tonight I can adjust one section of the system at a time to the point it appears to be working correctly. To me that’s warm compressor, no ice at compressor but some on lines and evaporator temp of mid 30’s F. The problem is when I turn both sections on at the same time the line ices up again and I wined up back at square one, sitting on my milk crate doing my ¼ turns. I’ve read a few posts on setting the txv and am going to attempt the right way tomorrow with a meter and proper tools.

I guess I have a few main questions: