Pressure testing large installation R410

Hi all,

I could use some advice regarding strength and leak pressure on larger R410 installations.
    Do you conform to some kind of standard for such matter, such as EN 378-2 or any other standard?

Do you do a strength test or just a leak pressure test? Also, Since R410A works on high pressures, did you have any problems with some of the valves failing during tests on high pressure?

Since I am new to the industry, it is hard to tell what is the best practice around.

Have a nice day

Brian_UK is offline Moderator I am starting to push the Mods: of RE Site Moderator : and general nice guy

Re: Pressure testing large installation R410

The size of the installation should have no bearing on the requirements for strength and leak testing.

These are standards laid down by your countries testing standards and also in most manufacturers installation instructions.
    Brian - Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
    Retired March 2015

Hi Brian

of course. As far as I know, the only document which states pressures and time for testing is EN 378-2. However, I am not sure do testing engineers in reality really conform to that. However, for some installations, there were different proposed procedures (such as only testing for working range, and not for maximum allowable pressure) What is the right approach for these situations.

From my understanding of EN 378-2, a strength pressure test should be done on 1.1 x Max Allowable Pressure for short time (15 mins), which is then lowered to 1 x Max Allowable Pressure for a longer time to verify that installation is not leaking. Is that a typical procedure for R410A?

Brian_UK is offline Moderator I am starting to push the Mods: of RE Site Moderator : and general nice guy

That's correct, test pressures as required, dare I say, by law are the ones used by all responsible trained technicians.
    Retired March 2015

Hi Brian,
    Can you explain about installation little briefly!