Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Compressor shutting down on overtemp?

I am trying to diagnose an overtemp shutdown problem. My background is EE and three or four summer seasons installing A/C back in the 70's.

My system is a Lennox HP416-3P heat pump with a CB18-51 Coil/air handler. It shuts down late morning on the compressor overtemperature switch on warmer days. The compressor is a Copeland ZK40K1-PFV-230 scroll unit. HCFC22 system. The system has a thermal expansion valve.

It is a pretty bare bones unit. It has no low pressure or high pressure protection swiches. It has a thermal switch on the lines and a reversing valve for the heat pump cycle. I've made a few measurements and need some advice.

Amperage draw 16.5 Amps @ 240VAC
    Air return 79.5 F (house warmed up)
    Air supply 66.5 F
    Wet bulb return 66.3 F
    High side 202 PSIG
    High side temp after condensor 91.3 F
    Low side 84 PSIG
    Low side temp 74.5-73.6 F

So I gather the subcooling is around 11. The unit door says should be 12 +/- 2. Superheat seems high. Maybe I'm not calculating right.

The filters are new, coil is clean and not icing over. There is no ice anywhere. The outlet side of the txv is unremarkable to touch with no expecially cold spots. Partially blocking the air return causes the low side to hunt and then settle back at 84 PSIG, suggesting the txv is not stuck. The sight glass is free of bubbles and green, showing no moisture.

It is definately shutting off on the overtemperature switch located at the top of the compressor, confirmed by an ohmmeter check. Pushing the contactor in manually causes the unit to run and if held in for a minute or so it will cool the compressor enough for it to continue running a while.