Refrigeration in Antarctic Conditions

Hi,

First time poster....so please be kind.

I am a HVAC Engineer with +35 yrs in the building services field. I have a project which is outside my usual scope of expertise and I am not 100% sure how to approach this.

I am working on the design of an Antarctic Scientific Research facility. it is to replace an existing base. There are a few refrigerated rooms (~4 degrees C) in the new facility - some for food and others for the scientists. The current facility uses normal commercial coolrooms with the condensing sets above the rooms.

Considering that the summer design is zero and the winter design is -30 degrees it seems madness to install more of the same. I want to use filtered outside air to be injected into the room where a re-circulation fan would distribute the air for even cooling air.

Here is the thing ....I have no idea on how much outside air would be needed. I assume that the room load is based on "pull down", the amount of material within the room, the type of material within the room and the frequency of opening

Any hints ?? I do not know where to start

TIA

joseph

Re: Refrigeration in Antarctic Conditions

Heat load also from lights, fans, heat transfer through the walls, heated freezer floors, air changes, people working in the room, rate of pull down, defrosts if needed.

With large range in outside air temps (and maybe other air conditions?), would it be easier to use something like a pumped brine loop to give more control?

Maybe the use of refrigeration units in the old facility is more about them being heat pumps.
    Last edited by seanf; 29-06-2020 at 07:07 PM.

I am wondering about refrigerated rooms in Antartica.
    Why not use outside air to cool the room?
    I'm sure the temperature out are low enough.

Quote Originally Posted by seanf View Post