Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    australia
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0

    old r22 pipes with new r410a unit



    So i just replaced a small ducted r22 unit with a r410a ducted unit and used the old piping of around 10 meters as it was to hard to replace. i didnt use any flushes, i blew it out with nitrogen for awhile and installed a bi-flow suction line filter.
    I didnt realise it was such a big deal with the oils until now.
    Do i need to be worried about my work? I dont want it to fail.
    Should i leave it as is?
    Has anyone done this and it failed?



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,557
    Rep Power
    28

    Re: old r22 pipes with new r410a unit

    Copper tube may not be rated to higher operating pressure.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: old r22 pipes with new r410a unit

    Had a discussion about this with my colleague, I can’t see how by using nitrogen you would flush mineral oil out of pipework you would need quite a bit of nirtrogen? What is the correct procedure when using existing pipework which has had mineral oil to then use a system with polyester?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    australia
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: old r22 pipes with new r410a unit

    Just wondering if its such an issue. I pressurized it a couple times and when you let the nitrogen out a bit of oil comes out

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    telford
    Posts
    2,033
    Rep Power
    27

    Re: old r22 pipes with new r410a unit

    I have flushed transport systems with automotive brake cleaner but I isolate the pipes

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,557
    Rep Power
    28

    Re: old r22 pipes with new r410a unit

    Some articles on retrofit.
    Sound like you should have done your research before you did the job!
    Maybe it's not to late if you have not opened valves yet?
    Warranty may be a problem also if not done to manufacturers specification.
    Filter you installed could help.
    What was wrong with oil unit?


    http://www.contractingbusiness.com/r...0a-conversions

    http://zumbrunnen.com/converting-fro...stem-to-r410a/

    http://www.refrigeration-engineer.co...sting-pipework
    Last edited by RANGER1; 27-01-2018 at 09:30 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    australia
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: old r22 pipes with new r410a unit

    Yes research first then work. Old compressor was locked rotor, wasn't burnt out

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •