Hybrid View

Frosting question

Im newish to the trade so be easy on me.

Found a Toshiba DX unit short of refrigerant (R410a), electronic sniffer going off at flare.
    Gauges showing 70psi suction and 290psi Discharge.

I was lead to believe that when a unit is short, the refrigerant bubbles off early causing to much superheat. so frosting early in the evap coil and expansion line, and a warm suction pipe and hot discharge pipe.

But this dx unit had a sweating expansion line and a frosting suction line through the suction line accumulator and all the way back to the compressor. Airflow was good over the evap coil.

Just wondered why this is happening. Sorry for the noob question, im still learning.

Re: Frosting question

If you lower the pressure you lower the temperature.
    In some instances the refrigerant inside the evaporator,
    evaporates at a lower temperature due to the lower pressures
    because of the loss of refrigerant.

This results in the evaporator frosting over and the frost acts as
    an insulator, that in turn causes the refrigerant to continue to
    evaporate out through the suction and back to the compressor.

It is a quirk of the AC system, when they lose gas they tend to freeze
    the evaporator up and the suction back to the compressor.

Rob

.. ... -. .----. - / -- --- .-. ... . / -.-. --- -.. . / --. --- --- -..

Thanks for your reply rob

I understand that when the evaporating pressure/ temperature drops due to being short and can ice up the evaporator.
    Just didn't think that could travel all the way back to the compressor without adding any superheat.
    I this case the evaporator wasn't iced up as I only turn the unit on minutes before, it could of been frosting tho but hard to see as it was in a ahu.

Quote Originally Posted by Greedygoose View Post
    Thanks for your reply rob

I understand that when the evaporating pressure/ temperature drops due to being short and can ice up the evaporator.