Thread: R290 top up

R290 top up

Hi guys new to this site,
    Looking for advice on r290 , I've never worked on this before in my many years I've been in the trade, but came across a fosters fridge the other day that was sat at 28 degrees, everything was working (evap/cond fans, comp etc) pressures where -11inhg low side and 50psi high side , after researching what the running pressures should be I've come to the conclusion it's low on gas, I've arranged to pressure test and recharge but the drier is in the most horrendous place as is almost impossible to replace and braze with out burning the side panel which cannot be removed,
    Would anyone just Risk not changing the drier ? And please correct me if any of my assumptions on the pressures are wrong
    Thanks
    Last edited by Leee87; 27-08-2017 at 06:21 PM.

Re: R290 top up

Depending on the fridge model it can be possible to remove the condensing section to make repairs.
    Brian, retired in Devon.

Unfortunetly this is not one of those models the condensor and comp are sat on the top and the drier is sandwiched between the condensor and the side pan of the unit

Maybe advisable to get a basic 1/2 HC course under your belt to ensure your up on the safety side of these refrigerants. A1 rated evacuation pump and recovery machines required.
    R290, as with other HC known to readily mix with oil which moves through the system freely. On integral type systems such as a Foster unit, blocked drivers are not un common I believe.
    I would cut out the drier and blow through the system with OFN as part of the repair process to eliminate a blocked drier.
    As with HFC Foster units some times the 1/4 pipe, drier , capillary assembly can be manipulated into a more easily accessible position to cut out the drier, and a new item soldered in.
    For safety purge through entire system with OFN to remove all traces of R290 prior to undertaking any hot work.