Power factor correctors

One of my customers has a lot of equipment driven by electric motors and upcoming changes to his billing for power usage is changing meaning he will be charged more,question is will power factor corrector reduce his kva ?

Re: Power factor correctors

Not an area where I am an expert, however I will give it a shot.
    If I am not entirely correct I am sure someone will tell me.
    Where you have an opportunity to save is with motors that are not fully loaded. The Power Supplier may charge you for KVARs, increasing your billing.
    You most likely will not save much on KVA, although there may be some effect especially if the Electrical system is running close to maximum capacity.
    I personally have not found it cost effective in plants I have worked in.
    On this side of the Pond the power Companies are eager to have us install Capacitors as they save them money. I assume they would review the situation at a plant there as they do here.
    Be careful of the folks who want to install them for free and then keep the savings.

Wiki is useful as always.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_..._power_factors

This customer only asked how to some other questions and then told me of an issue that the electricity suppliers are moving the goalposts which could see his annual bill to be £10,000 more per annum because of the amount he uses,I have heard in the past that corrections could cut his consumption not a field I know anything about,another option he has is to open a second factory thus moving some of his processing there but that would exceed the rise in electricity charge,anyone know of any other way to achieve what he needs?