martin35 Guest

Domestic fridge HELP

Hi all, my name is martin and i have signed up to this forum with the hope of gaining some technical information on the correct operation of my domestic fridge. I am a complete novice in the refrigeration trade, but i am a technician (aircraft) and one of my pleasures in life is gaining the self satisfaction in tampering and (sometimes) repairing faulty items. I have an upright Hotpoint RF64 combination fridge freezer on which about a year ago an annoying red LED decided to come (and stay) on. I found out that this LED indicates that the freezer compartment is not reaching the required temperature -18 C, so i started my investigation. I found that this combo has its only thermostat located in the fridge compartment, and that this thermostat governs the operation or length of time the freezer compartment is supplied with refrigerant (how strange). The freezer has 4 compartments,with the top compartment having a fast freeze facility, which has the ability to reach -22 degrees C, which i thought was ok (but only after a very long time on the very coldest setting on the thermostat). I then discovered that the temperature sensor is located in the bottom compartment, and that this compartment stuggles to get below -12 on any thermostat setting. The thermostat cycles on and off regularly at all settings, apart from the very coldest setting of which it seems to keep the compressor running almost continuosly. I monitored the temperature on the evaporator in the fridge (on which the thermostat sensor is located) and this also seems to stuggle to get below -12 C (have no idea what temperature it should reach on coldest setting), and wondered if there is connection with this temp and lower compartment temp. I feel that the thermostat is operating correctly (although i have no idea of the operating temperatures of the thermostat either) but never sees the temperature that it is meant to and never trips off on the coldest setting. I was wonde