Post New here. Need help upgrading ice block plant!

Hi everyone,

I've been browsing these forums for a few months now. I decided to post because I was hoping someone could help me answer a few questions. Fair warning. This is a long post!

Background:
    My family has been in the Ice Block manufacturing business in Islamabad, Pakistan since 1979. I inherited the plant in December last year and after some initial back and forth -quite literally as I live in the US - I decided to give it the best I got and let the chips fall where they may. Fast forward to today. We recently finished our first season and my big take-away from it was that we need to upgrade our plants. Our current set up includes two 8x8 and three 6x6 open type, 2 cylinder, belt driven reciprocating compressors, using ammonia. (What that 8x8 or 6x6 refers to? I have no clue!) They produce 135kg blocks in 48 hours. Our ice cans are made out of mild steel and due to continuous corrosion, no two cans produce the same size blocks so there is no way for me to tell the cooling capacity in tons that each tank needs. (I multiply the number of blocks into size of each block and divide it by a 1000 to reach a rough estimate) We use water cooled-condensers that sit on the roof top accumulate an incredible amount of silt , which I don't believe is doing any good to the efficiency of our system. We use three 10hp motors to cycle the water from pool to the condensers. Our electric bill is our biggest variable overhead, by a long shot and I feel that if we upgraded our machinery, we could reduce our cost of production(cop) significantly. Any cost savings we have, we plan to invest in solar panels, further reducing our(cop). But here's the problem: