Assistance with Northland refrigerator/freezer units

Hi, I am not a pro. Not lacking some understanding; but not a pro.

What I am trying to understand/do is replace the compressors in a Northland freezer and refrigerator. I don't know if these are sold in any of the regions covered by members. This is their name in the US. I believe they may be known as Marvell in other areas.

These units were my wife's fondest desire for the new (retirement) house. The other item was a Bluestar range that has now caught fire internally twice. But it cooks good!

The units are a moderately unusual design. Aside from mediocre insulation and horrible noise, they are very nice. SS everywhere. They are essentially built-ins. A lot of storage space for their size. The reason for this is that all the mechanical systems are in an easily removable (if you are not as old and weak as I am now) module on the top of the units.

Last year, the refrigerator module failed. Naturally it was on the hottest time of the year. I found out that the only place they keep spares is in the NE corner of the US. I am in the NW corner. For several days I spent $30 a day for dry ice. Shipping was $500. The unit itself was over $2000. The dealer in the area does not do repairs. The compressors have no manufacturer name or part number that I have found; just the Northland info. The units are >10 years old. From what I have gathered, this is longer than they are expected to work. So the freezer is running on borrowed time and the new refrigerator module is making odd noises.

Both of the mechanical modules are very noisy. We hear them throughout the house. If there were not doors between the bedroom and the kitchen, it would be difficult to sleep. Very very annoying.

For better or worse, I am an engineer. My wife is seriously divided on that being good or bad. It tends to vary by the day (or smaller time intervals, based on circumstances). I designed the house and all the systems; with reasonable success.