Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: R290 Drop in??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    England
    Posts
    41
    Rep Power
    0

    R290 Drop in??



    Hi, i am after some advice regards a fridge running on R290. The system has lost its full charge and is in need of a re-gas, it says on the unit data plate insulation gas R134a. Does this mean that the unit would run fine if R134a was put in instead?

    I don't work with flammable refrigerants so know very little about them, i have a customer who wants it pressure testing and re-gassing but obviously as i don't deal with R290 i can't re-gas with that. Basically i am wondering if it can be re-gassed with anything else or is it worth just leaving alone?

    Thanks



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    NTH.QLD Australia
    Age
    55
    Posts
    1,754
    Rep Power
    26

    Re: R290 Drop in??

    You can't charge it with R134a. R290 systems use Mineral oil. 134a uses synthetic.
    To the optimist, the glass is half full. To the pessimist, the glass is half empty.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    ISRAEL
    Age
    65
    Posts
    4,098
    Rep Power
    37

    Re: R290 Drop in??

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeref View Post
    You can't charge it with R134a. R290 systems use Mineral oil. 134a uses synthetic.
    R-290 works with synthetic oil as well, it much more efficient than 134 and you just have to know how to handle it safely.
    To be sure what kind of oil is in the compressor, read the manufacturer label.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    England
    Age
    53
    Posts
    1,220
    Rep Power
    28

    Re: R290 Drop in??

    .

    290 is more closely matched to 404a and they use the same comp.
    You will often find 404a compressors with 290 inside.

    As for changing it, don't.

    The system is a 290 system and it works best with 290, do a days
    awareness training / exam and get qualified to work with it and
    then get the refrigerant.



    Rob

    .
    .. ... -. .----. - / -- --- .-. ... . / -.-. --- -.. . / --. --- --- -..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    England
    Posts
    41
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: R290 Drop in??

    Thanks for all the responses, normally with these types of gasses I don't waste my time with them hence why I know very little about them. This is the first one I've seen that says it has an insulation gas of r134a, which made me wonder if it could be swapped over.

    Thanks again! ��

  6. #6
    Brian_UK's Avatar
    Brian_UK is online now Moderator I am starting to push the Mods: of RE Site Moderator : and general nice guy
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Dorset
    Age
    69
    Posts
    10,378
    Rep Power
    49

    Re: R290 Drop in??

    Excuse me, I may be misreading but you have twice said that the 'insulation' gas is134a. That's just what was used to blow the foam.

    If that is true then it has nothing to do with the refrigeration side of things does it?
    Brian - Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
    Retired March 2015
    Please support http://the100project.net/Home

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    177
    Rep Power
    7

    Re: R290 Drop in??

    What do you mean insulation gas?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Not so sunny coast (BC Canada)
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,646
    Rep Power
    17

    Re: R290 Drop in??

    The gas that makes the foam inflate to fill the voids. back in the day it was R-12, and now it is a mixed bag depending on the goals.
    Now in Redvers Sask.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •