Superheat and subcooling.

Hello everyone,

My background is that I have NVQ level 2 in refrigeration and have been working as a service engineer for 12 years.

What is unusual is that I have only ever worked on environmental chambers. Never A/C never on refrigeration.

I work on R23 systems every day.

Other than touching on superheat and subcooling during college or FGAS, I never have to use them.

Diagnostics are different in my field. For example if the chamber has tripped it's low stage HP switch that means there's a problem with the high stage not working properly.

If the high stage compressor has frosted up, the low stage has lost all it's gas.

R23 is usually charged to a standing pressure and the high stage is charged to the sight glass.

I became a bit unsure of myself when I had to charge up a single stage R404a chamber...

Don't worry, I do know what I am doing it's just more common to work on cascade!

I cleared the sight glass and was looking for a box temp of -40'C but could get no lower than -32'C.

I just closed down the expansion valve to evaporate at a lower temperature and soon got -40'C.

What I'd like to know is what would be a more scientific way of doing what I did? what superheat/subcooling should I have been looking for?

It's all very well measuring these variables but unless you know what they should ideally be then the readings can be a bit meaningless.

cheers,

Cascademan.

Re: Superheat and subcooling.

Hi Cascademan.

As a rough rule of thumb we work to 4k to 7k subcooling and superheat,
    when working on air cooled condensers.

For control and setting up we check the liquid pipe temp out of the condenser
    and compare the measured temperature to the condensing temperature.

For subcooling we can only control the temp out of the condenser (without additional external subcooling).
    If the airflows are good and without fan speed control normal subcooling is about 4k to 7k.