Hybrid View

Calculation of Refrigeration capacity

Hi

I am new to refrigeration and looking to build up a cold room. I have different people saying different capacity and needs clarification to how much KW refrigeration capacity would be required for below:

Length 10.9728 meter
    Width 12.192 meter
    Height 7.3152 meter

Fruits to be stored: 205 Tons
    Insulation: 100 mm Polystyrene

Fruits entering temperature 15 C
    Target temperature 04 C
    Time to cool down: 24 hours

Refrigerant to be used: R717

Would appreciate if someone can help me with this.

Regards
    Salman Khan

Re: Calculation of Refrigeration capacity

approx 62 kW

Hi

Many thanks for kind email.

I would appreciate if you can let me know how you calculate it

Regards
    Saleem Khan

Presuming this is a load-unload type of process, you might question your 24-hours available to cool but....

Total Heat to be Removed: Q

Q=m Cp Delta-T where
    m is the mass of product
    Delta-T is the temperature change you are trying to effect (11-deg. in this case...)
    Cp is the sensible heat of the product: you only said fruit, the ASHRAE refrigeration manual has 44 Cp values for fruit: For fresh fruit, they basically fall between .82 and .91.

You then divide that number by the time (24-hours) to get a rate at which heat needs to be removed....