Question Ecodan 14kw drawing 1.1A when off

Hi all, hope someone can help,

I have a 14kw mitsubishi ecodan heat pump (single phase) and while giving it a service I put a current clamp on it and found its drawing 1.11A when in mode 00. i.e off.

This seems very high to me, anyone else experienced this or have any thoughts?

Re: Ecodan 14kw drawing 1.1A when off

crankcase heater ?

~250W...

Probably a bit too much to be controls or even a crankcase heater... A circulating pump?

When it goes into compressor warm up mode 08, it draws 1.3A and you can hear it, but when in mode 00 it is silent. i've been checking it every hour today and it is always 1.1A.

Hi Simon,

Came across this (on a Fujitsu split a few years back. Measuring with an amp clamp gave a high reading like yours when unit was at rest but if you used a power meter or whatever they are called - one that takes into account the power factor then actual current was very low.

I'm no expert in power factors but it's something like if the current and voltage are in phase then power factor is one and perfect for an amp clamp. If it isn't then your amp clamp gives a false reading. AC units have a part of the PCB to improve the power factor which is where all this grief stems from.

You can pick the meters up from Maplins or RS fairly cheap (search energy meters) or get stuck in and buy a posh one but it might pay to check this first before looking for a fault which might not be there.

Incidentally your electric meter at home takes the power factor into account so don't panic there. As for how does current lead or lag the voltage, well don't think I'll ever get my head around that one.

Cheers,
    Andy.
    Health and safety first..........unless I'm in a hurry.

id be more concerned about the power consumption when its chuggin its nuts off