Main 32A Breaker tripping after a few minutes on a Toshiba RAV 160 AH-F

I'm trying to remedy a fault that's occurring with a customers air conditioning.

It's a Toshiba RAV 160 AH-F matched to a RAV 453 CHE and was working fine. Now it runs for a few minutes and takes out the 32A mcb. I'm told by Toshiba it can only be the compressor and was wondering if there is a way to bring back life for another year?

I'm an electrician and not an air-con engineer, so any help/ advice would be greatly appreciated (I am aware that it's an old unit and that the R22 refrigerant will not be available after January).
    Last edited by Colin; 13-08-2014 at 07:26 PM.

Re: Main 32A Breaker tripping after a few minutes on a Toshiba RAV 160 AH-F

Colin

As you are an Electrician you will be familiar with using an Insulation Tester.

Switch the outdoor unit off and expose the terminals on the compressor connections.
    Disconnect all wires and carry out an insulation test on any one of the compressor termnals to earth and see if the reading is one you would accept on your wiring installations.

As the compressor winding's break down, the insulation deteriorates and excessive amps are drawn, leading to mcb trips and eventually a dead short.

Nothing we as fridge engineers can do to prolong this for 1 year....bite the bullet my friend and get a pro in to properly diagnose and fix the problem.