Thumbs down Leaking Pipe at Back of Fridge

Hi all

I've had a good look online and can't seem to find any answers. I have little knowledge of fridges as you will probably gather.

Every morning there is a little puddle of water amount our fridge freezer.

Initially I thought the tray that collects excess water was just a bit too full. So I pulled it out and emailed it. As I put it back I felt water drops on my hand. I then saw a pipe was leaking water.

The pipe was cold to touch and has ice on it. It looks like it has some insulation around it. The water seems to be from the melting of the ice. The heat sink (if that's the right term) is warm as I expected, this melting the ice.

I've not been able to identify what the pipe is for or called, so am unable to search specifics. I've taken a picture. How is this?

Your thoughts and opinions appreciated.

Thanks
    Matthew.

IMAG0264.jpg

Re: Leaking Pipe at Back of Fridge

Emailed the tray? I meant emptied it (damn auto correct)

You can see the pipe is dark grey and that's where it is wet.

Does it cool properly ? More then likely sog

Thanks for the response jonjon. It has been leaving puddles for a long while now, but everything is cold and staying cool perfectly. Turning the temperature dial anti clockwise just slightly (so the fridge is less cold / more warm) causes the compressor or whatever to turn off, indicating the fridge is adequately cold.

Can you explain what Sog is please?

Thanks.

sog - short of gas

Looks like the suction pipe insulation has had it. You might be able to carefully pull the black grill forward to pick it off, slice a new section in and tape it up. Go easy if you do!
    Health and safety first..........unless I'm in a hurry.

Thanks Tayters

Short of Gas! So, is it possible to add additional Gas?