Smile Help for a newbie with a Toshiba Split A/C with no cooling/heating

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here both to the forum and compared to most of you guys a complete newbie to refrigeration and A/C but I have been following the various forums for a number of years with great interest. I am now qualified, trained and tooled up but like all things it's all about real world experience and that is where my limitation lies. I am keen to learn and do the job properly so I hope you will help me with the following problem, which for you guys is probably trivial.

I have been undertaking basic servicing of a Toshiba split A/C system which was not installed by me (outdoor unit - RAS-18SAV2-E, Indoor unit RAS-B118UFV-E .. floor mounted) for a two years but this year came to clean filters, coils etc, check air flow and air/air off temps to find that the units were basically just moving air through them with no cooling or heating effect. The air on/air off temperatures at the indoor or outdoor units in either cooling or heating modes (when set to Hi-Power) showed but 0.5 C difference. Both fans were operationally shifting plenty of air through the units (same values as last year) and no externally obvious faults were apparent. On quizzing the customer regarding the performance over the last year, they felt that it had deteriorated but they hadn't actually used in that much as it had been a mild winter (the indoor unit is in a conservatory!), there had really started to notice it with the arrival of the warmer weather and thought themselves that not a lot of cooling was going on.

I have checked the self diagnostics codes via the remote controller and all were clear except check code 12 ('trouble on other indoor PC boards). I cleared the fault code, powered down and up, ran the units for a while and checked to see if the code presented again ... but it didn't.