Chiller with Bitzer compressor and eco

Hey all,

First of all i am pretty new in the Refrigeration, like 1,5 year en still learning.
    Last week i visited a chiller installation and it gave me some headache.

I noticed that the pressure of the eco was constant going up and down rapidly a diff of 1,2 bar.
    But also the temperature.

And at some point the compressor was taking liquid, i could hear it and see it in the sightglass of the oil.

Then i noticed something with the piping of the eco.
    Normally the pipe of the eco is taken form the high pressure liquid, then a expansion valve then the subcooler, but in this situation the eco pipe taken after the subcooler.

Also when i look up in the bitzer software the expansion valve for the eco has to be like 27 kW, this installation has a valve for 45 kW they also turned the orifice way back.

What do you guys think ?

Bitzer eco.jpg

Re: Chiller with Bitzer compressor and eco

Quote Originally Posted by Qball View Post
    Hey all,

First of all i am pretty new in the Refrigeration, like 1,5 year en still learning.
    Last week i visited a chiller installation and it gave me some headache.

I noticed that the pressure of the eco was constant going up and down rapidly a diff of 1,2 bar.
    But also the temperature.

And at some point the compressor was taking liquid, i could hear it and see it in the sightglass of the oil.

Then i noticed something with the piping of the eco.
    Normally the pipe of the eco is taken form the high pressure liquid, then a expansion valve then the subcooler, but in this situation the eco pipe taken after the subcooler.

Also when i look up in the bitzer software the expansion valve for the eco has to be like 27 kW, this installation has a valve for 45 kW they also turned the orifice way back.

What do you guys think ?

Bitzer eco.jpg
    Qball, agree it's a bit unusual as to me does not achieve anything extra,as same load still ends up in economizer port.