Mass of refrigerant in Evaporator of heat pump

Hi,
    I'm new to the field of the heat pumps and involved in tasks related to mathematical modeling of different dynamic system. Now for my project, I came across mathematical modeling of heat pumps. I've some set of differential equations to describe the system. But there are some parameters for which I've no idea how to measure or estimate them.
    For example, mass of refrigerant in the evaporator and mass of refrigerant in the condenser. Are these given in kg or some other units? Do the mass of refrigerant remains constant within the condenser and evaporator?
    Can anyone tell me where can I look for these masses?

Regards

Re: Mass of refrigerant in Evaporator of heat pump

Normally the mass of refrigerant is given as the total mass in the system, and it is given in kg or oz. The greatest mass is found in the area where the liquid is found. This is in the line leaving the condenser, the receiver (if one exists) and the line preceding the expansion valve or capillary tube which is called the liquid line. The sum of the masses within the condenser and evaporator does remain almost constant when there is no receiver, but the balance of masses may shift from the evaporator to the condenser as the evaporator cools. All of the above assumes a constant speed by the compressor.

Dear Mayball,

Thank you very much for your reply. I have a paper about the modeling and control of heat pumps. In that paper, the author has clearly mentioned the mass of refrigerant in the evaporator (0.165kg) and condenser(0.15kg) and I'm just curious how can one determine the masses within the evaporator block and he condenser block?

You need to know the component internal volume, the velocity of the mass through the component,
    Know the state of the mass entering and leaving the component.
    The work done buy the component, this will give us the mass flow