Condensor Scale build up.

Hello all,

I'm an apprentice working with two refrigeration operators. As a good opportunity to learn more and contribute to my team I've taken interest in resolving a build up of calcium on our condensors. We have to baltimore condensors, our systems is a 20,000 lb NH3. In our busy season we are freezing 170 tons of fish a day.

On our system it's apparent that the bleed off water line has been closed for some time and as a result or tubes are built up with calcium.

We've contacted a water treatment provider, there hasnt been one, my impression is they are mostly interested in treatment after we get the build up removed.

So, searching the site here I found a thread that briefly mentioned using white vinegar and water 60/40 to break it down.

http://www.refrigeration-engineer.co...ondensor+scale

I've tried a small area and the results look good, but I'm hoping that I can get more information or experiences on doing this... I do not want to damage the galvanizing and since we have to condensors how would you apply this on a large scale?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Condensor Scale build up.

I've used neat vinegar in a purger before to remove scale and it worked well. Never in a condenser though. Typically Id use a product with sulphamic acid like Nalco 5032.

Hi SMP
    I have used Citric acid in the past, you used to be able to buy it as a powder and add it to the condenser water and run the pump. You will still have to keep an eye on the galvanizing and don't make the mix too strong.
    Paul
    Born to fish, forced to work

Blog Entries

What's the condenser model number?